Our partners utilize technology, like biscuits, and gather info that is browsing to personalise the information and advertisements and to supply you with the very best experience.
Please let us know if you agree.
Mikel Iturria won point 11 of the Vuelta a Espana on home soil from the Nation to shoot his first ever as the general classification riders enjoyed a relaxing day.
The 27-year-old was a part of a breakaway before starting a solo attack to win before his loved ones.
Before holding on to take his first Grand Tour win by six 20, he also built a lead of 45 seconds.
“When I was requested which stage I wanted to acquire, I stated one,” he said.
Iturria, who obtained from Jonathan Lastra with Lawson Craddock third, added:”I’ve always dreamed of something like this, since I’m a employee not a winner.”
Rush leader Primoz Roglic came in 35 minutes behind Iturria and 18 minutes with all the remainder of the peloton, claiming his lead of one minute 52 seconds over closest challenger Alejandro Valverde following his victory in Tuesday’s individual time trial.
Thursday’s point 12 is another hilly ride round northern Spain, a 171.4 km route from Circuito de Navarra into Bilbao.
1. Mikel Iturria (Esp/Euskadi Basque Country) 4hr 36mins 44secs
2. Jonathan Lastra (Spa/Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) +6secs
3. Lawson Craddock (USA/Education First) +6secs
4. Damien Howson (Aus/Mitchelton – Scott) +6secs
5. Francois Bidard (Fra/AG2R La Mondiale) +6secs
6. Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Eri/Team Dimension Data) +9secs
7. Benjamin Thomas (Fra/Groupama – FDJ) +12secs
8. Matteo Fabbro (Ita/Team Katusha – Alpecin) +12secs
9. Gorka Izagirre (Esp/Astana Guru Team) +12secs
10. Remi Cavagna (Fra/Deceuninck – Quick-Step) +12secs
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 41hrs, 48mins
2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +1minutes 52secs
3. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +2mins 11secs
4. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +3mins
5. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) + 3mins 5secs
6. Carl Fredrik Hagen (Nor/Lotto-Soudal) +4mins 59secs
7. Rafal Majka (Pol/BORA-hansgrohe) +5mins 42secs
8. Nicolas Edet (Fra/Cofidis) +5mins 49secs
9. Dylan Teuns (Bel/Bahrain-Merida) +6 mins 7secs
10. Wilco Kelderman (NED/Sunweb) +6mins 25secs
From a liberal democracy to a dictatorship in four Decades
Road, track, BMX, mountain and many more – there are many ways and reasons to start cycling.
Got a cycling race? Make sure you make the most of your warm up for this 20-minute guide.