Experienced moment row Devin Toner is a surprise omission in Joe Schmidt Ireland World Cup group, supported on Monday.
The 33-year-old Leinster lock was a consistent member of Schmidt’s Ireland sides since the Kiwi occurred over starting 50 of their head trainer’s 67 Tests.
In his position, the squad has been made by the South African-born second row Jean Kleyn of Munster, despite becoming qualified with the Iain Henderson of Ulster Leinster’s James Ryan and Munster’s Tadhg Beirne, over the summer another locks selected.
Other big names to miss out include 2017 British and Irish Evaluation Lion Jack McGrath at loosehead prop, with Cian Healy and Dave Kilcoyne selected, while Connacht scrum-half Kieran Marmion also misses out despite appearing for a Schmidt favorite; Leinster’s Jack McGrath carrying the second nine slot along with Conor Murray.
Ulster utility back Will Addison has not done enough to create it in despite a promising screen in victory over Wales in Cardiff on Saturday, together with Munster’s Chris Farrell included among other center options Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw (both Leinster) and Bundee Aki (Connact).
The back-three collections are consumed from Keith Earls (Munster), Jacob Stockdale (Ulster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Andrew Conway (Munster) and Jordan Larmour (Leinster).
At out-half, Jack Carty’s (Connacht) person of the match screen in Wales is sufficient to see him travel before Ross Byrne (Leinster) and along with Johnny Sexton (Leinster) and Joey Carbery (Munster).
From the back-row, Jordi Murphy (Ulster) is a surprise exclusion as Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) is chosen, with the rest of the selections expected: Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Jack Conan (Leinster).
Elsewhere, skipper Rory Best (Ulster), Niall Scannell (Munster) and Sean Cronin (Leinster) fill the hooker slots, whereas Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), John Ryan (Munster) and Andrew Porter (Leinster) complete the brace selections – the latter of which will likely cover both sides from the scrum.
Ireland’s 31-man 2019 Rugby World Cup squad:
Forwards (17): Rory Best (c), Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Dave Kilcoyne, Iain Henderson, Jean Kleyn Peter O’Mahony Andrew Porter, Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, CJ Stander, Josh van der Flier.
Backs (14): Bundee Aki, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty, Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Robbie Henshaw, Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Luke McGrath, Conor Murray, Garry Ringrose, Jonathan Sexton, Jacob Stockdale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *