Louis Picamoles has been contained in the 31-man squad to the Rugby World Cup of France.
After head coach Jacques Brunel chose him the 33-year-old, who is predicted to stop international rugby after the tournament in Japan, will take part in his third World Cup.
The final list was drawn with Felix Lambey along with Romain Taofifenua notably omitted.
France will take on Tonga, Argentina, England and the United States in Pool C.
“We chose (Picamoles) after a few pleasant performances and owing to his expertise,” Brunel said.
“We also picked a player who can play second and third row in Arthur Iturria.”
Les Bleus, who have slipped to eighth in the world rankings, targeted up for the tournament with wins from Italy and Scotland, and a defeat from the Scots.
Brunel thinks they can cause an upset with a clash against Argentina on September 21, in Japan their first outing although they were impressive.
“The favorites are constantly exactly the same. The number one favorites would be the Blacks,” he explained.
“This squad is a good mix of experience and youth, it’s a good balance. The Pool is tough but we hope to get very very far in this championship,” added Brunel, that included five half-backs within his squad – scrum-halves Baptiste Serin, Antoine Dupont and Maxime Machenaud along with fly-halves Camille Lopez along with Romain Ntamack.
“With five halfbacks we’re ready for every chance,” Brunel explained.
The squad will gather before flying to Japan.
France’s 31-man 2019 Rugby World Cup squad
Forwards: Jefferson Poirot (Bordeaux-Bgles), Rabah Slimani (Clermont), Demba Bamba (Lyon), Emerick Setiano (Toulon), Cyril Baille (Toulouse), Guilhem Guirado (Montpellier, cap) , Camille Chat (Racing 92), Peato Mauvaka (Toulouse), Sebastien Vahaamahina (Clermont), Paul Gabrillagues (Stade Franais), Arthur Iturria (Clermont), Bernard Le Roux (Racing 92), Gregory Alldritt (La Rochelle), Charles Ollivon (Toulon), Louis Picamoles (Montpellier), Yacouba Camara (Montpellier), Wenceslas Lauret (Racing 92).
Backs: Antoine Dupont (Toulouse), Baptiste Serin (Toulon), Maxime Machenaud (Racing 92), Camille Lopez (Clermont), Romain Ntamack (Toulouse), Gael Fickou (Stade Franais), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Sofiane Guitoune (Toulouse), Virimi Vakatawa (Racing 92), Yoann Huget (Toulouse), Alivereti Raka (Clermont), Damian Penaud (Clermont), Maxime Medard (Toulouse), Thomas Ramos (Toulouse). (Reporting from Julien Pretot; Editing by Christian Radnedge)